Welcome to your new mac!

About John Burk

The ramblings of a physics teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to your new mac!

  1. epdobbs says:

    Thanks John, this was such a helpful video. I learned about the different ways to open folders– and I’m so glad because that had been frustrating me for a while. I wasn’t used to visualizing my files in a different way.

    I’d like to know more about how to save files within files (or create files to save them in) if you’re going to make another video.

    Also, how did you make that video? I’d love to use that program for a sample poem application that my students could watch/listen to online and then create themselves… So many questions, so little time!

    • Peyten,
      It’s easy to create folders to save organize files. In the finder, just go to File > New Folder, and a new folder will be created wherever you are in the finder. Here’s a link to an apple video that does a pretty good job of explaining how to get started with finder.

      I made the video in a program called Camtasia, which is a very powerful piece of software for creating screencasts. You can dowload a 30 day free trial from the website I linked above. Also, you may be familiar with Jing, it’s free cousin, which works beautifully on the mac. Finally, you can record screencasts using the built in quicktime software.

      Keep the questions coming, and enjoy your mac!

Leave a Reply

