Open mic for questions

So after a day or two of using your new mac, what questions do you have? Post the to the comments below, and we will answer them for all to see. 

About John Burk

The ramblings of a physics teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Open mic for questions

  1. tsadtler says:

    Three questions:
    1. How do I “delete forward.” PCs have a backspace key and a delete key. On my tablet, Backspace let me delete backward (what’s to the left of my cursor) while delete let me delete forward (what’s to the right of my cursor. Since my Mac only has a delete key (that really just let’s me backspace), how do I delete forward?

    If that sounds really confusing, how about this? How can I delete the stuff to the right of my cursor?

    2. How do I zip to the beginning or end of a line since Macs don’t have Home and End keys?

    3. How do I “page up” and “page down” in a document or website?

  2. tsadtler says:

    Thanks. I just tried all. It turns out that delete forward is function (fn) + delete. Option + delete deletes the whole previous word and control + delete doesn’t seem to do anything.

    Thanks for getting me to tinker.

  3. Clark Meyer says:

    When I open Safari, the window doesn’t fill the whole screen. And clicking the little green light at the top left doesn’t do it either . . . only grabbing the bottom right corner and dragging it open seems to work. Chrome opens to a nice full screen, but Safari won’t. What gives?

    • John Burk says:

      The red, yellow, green button in the upper left corner do not have exactly the same behaviors as as the window control buttons in windows. This is sort of a result of how windows and mac treat windows differently.

      • red button: close window—unlike windows, this only the window, but not the application. You can always tell what application is running by looking the name of the application in the upper left corner of the menu bar.
      • yellow button: minimize to dock. This minimizes the window and puts it on the left side of the dock.
      • green button: expand. This isn’t really a maximize button, and some applications do not implement it the same. Mostly, it makes the window fill the vertical size—I’ve rarely seen it maximize the horizontal width of the window.

      This is a topic of some consternation on the internet among former pc users, and there are a few utilities out there that you can download and install that will make the behavior more pc-like.

      Two options:

      Here’s a good blog post that also describes a few more window management options.

  4. Agnes says:

    1) Where is the ‘PrintScreen’ button?
    2) I have connected my new Mac to the Acer screen and it works fine, but if I close the top of my MacBook, that puts it in sleep mode, and therefore, the Acer screen goes black. How do I fix this?

    • John Burk says:

      1) Where is the ‘PrintScreen’ button?
      There basic print screen is command-shift-3, which saves the screen shot to a file on the desktop.
      There are many additional options you can use as well:

      • Command-Shift-3: Take a screenshot of the screen, and save it as a file on the desktop
      • Command-Shift-4, then select an area: Take a screenshot of an area and save it as a file on the desktop
      • Command-Shift-4, then space, then click a window: Take a screenshot of a window and save it as a file on the desktop
      • Command-Control-Shift-3: Take a screenshot of the screen, and save it to the clipboard
      • Command-Control-Shift-4, then select an area: Take a screenshot of an area and save it to the clipboard
      • Command-Control-Shift-4, then space, then click a window: Take a screenshot of a window and save it to the clipboard
      • the following keys can be held down while selecting an area (via Command-Shift-4 or Command-Control-Shift-4):
        • Space, to lock the size of the selected region and instead move it when the mouse moves
        • Shift, to resize only one edge of the selected region
        • Option, to resize the selected region with its center as the anchor point


      2) I have connected my new Mac to the Acer screen and it works fine, but if I close the top of my MacBook, that puts it in sleep mode, and therefore, the Acer screen goes black. How do I fix this?
      Here are instructions from apple on how to use the screen with your lid closed. Basically, you just need to connect your external keyboard and mouse, and monitor, and close the lid once the desktop appears on the external display.

      • Agnes says:

        1) Check!
        2) Check! The link gave me the clue 🙂 I needed the laptop to be plugged in!

        Thanks!!!

  5. Agnes says:

    I thought I was done, but now this happened.
    3) When I came home from school, somehow my Mac is displaying things bigger than before, which makes me scroll left and right and up and down to see a whole page. Pretty annoying.
    I messed with the View thing and then I went to System Preferences to mess with the Display resolution to no avail. I also played with the Zoom feature, but it only allows me to Zoom bigger, not smaller (and of course, it makes the problem worse, not better.)
    Any ideas on how to fix this, anyone?

    Thanks a million 🙂

    • John Burk says:

      Yes. I think you’ve enabled the screen zooming feature. To zoom out, hold down the control key, and drag downward with two fingers on the trackpad like you were scrolling. To zoom in, drag upward.

  6. Kristen Orsini says:

    John,

    Thanks for maintaining this blog. It’s already been very helpful.

    How do I import my Favorites from Explorer and Bookmarks from Firefox that I saved on the U-drive? Should I bother doing it now or wait until the computer is re-imaged when school starts?

    What are the main differences between the 3 web browsers? Which do you recommend?

    Kristen

    • John Burk says:

      Kristen,
      To import bookmarks, you generally follow the process of exporting them to a file from your old broswer, and then import them to the new browser. Here’s a post that explains in more details how to export bookmarks from Firefox and IE 7 . Each of the browsers on the mac has some menu command to then import that file.

      Another alternative is xmarks, a free bookmark sync tool, which keeps bookmarks in sync between all your browsers. It’s great.

      As for browsers, it’s really a mater of personal preference. All of them are a dramatic improvement over IE 7, if that’s what you were using before. All of them have lots of customizations you can add to automate tasks, block ads, etc. I, somewhat geekily, use all three—it’s handy for checking multiple gmail acounts without having to log in/out. If you want a detailed review comparing them on various speed and technical benchmarks, here’s one.

  7. Bo Adams says:

    Got my bookmarks synced with Xmarks recommendation. However, I did not find it as intuitive as I expected. From Xmarks site, I had to download tool in EACH browser and establish sync. That took me awhile to figure out. Hope my learning curve helps others avoid frustration and time.

Leave a Reply

