Evernote for-eva!

When Bo showed me OneNote, I was hooked. What an incredible tool. Previously, I had been having trouble keeping up with my digital organization. Where did I put that file? Which file within a file within a file? For an organizational nerd like me, my digital filing had proven frustrating. I could not get a handle on it, until OneNote.

When I heard we were moving to Macs, my heart fluttered. Kind of like the first time I saw Brad Pitt and George Clooney together in a movie:

from CreativeCommons Flicker Silas216

Despite the fact that we were going to have OneNote on the Macs, it was a program that runs only with parallels, and this seemed like a lot of trouble to me. I had heard that Evernote  was a tool similar to OneNote, and so I decided to play a bit to discover if Evernote would make my heart flutter as much as George and Brad. It does.

Here’s what I like sets my heart a-flutter in evernote:

1) It is a FREE app that I can download to my personal mac, my ipad, and my iphone (yes, Apple, you have me under your spell).

2) I can make documents on any of those devices, and the docs will sync up. So when I’m working from home, I don’t have to worry about syncing when I get to school. It’s automatic.

3) I can take pictures/screen shots and insert them into the documents.

Free tip: To take a screen shot on your Mac, hold down the Command+Shift+3 key. This will save a screen shot of your screen. To take a screen shot of a selected area, press Command+Shift+4. Then you can choose what you want to select. It will also save to your desktop.

4) I can have notebooks and pages just like OneNote, so my organizational Lion is appeased.

from CreativeCommons by Mister E (Chris Eason)

5) I can tag each page for easy searching later.

6) I can make “audio” notes. This is kind of like dictation, but I can send it and save it just like I can any written page.

7) I can share anything I’ve done on Evernote on Facebook, Twitter, or via Email.

Now, if only I can figure out how to transfer all of my OneNote files to Evernote. 🙂

About epdwilliams

Junior High English Teacher The Westminster Schools
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Evernote for-eva!

  1. John Burk says:

    Peyten,
    Great post. Importing One-note notebooks to evernote is a clunky and unsatisfying process, but you should give it a shot to see for yourself. You need to have the evernote pc clinet installed on your windows virtual machine (VM). Just start up parallels, and using internet explorer, go to evernote and download the client. From there, the instructions linked above should guide you. Be warned that this only works well with fairly simple notebooks—if you’ve got a lot of attached documents and other stuff, it may not convert at all, unfortunately.

  2. valjane says:

    Nice! I never really got into OneNote but I’m trying to be more organized, so I think I’ll give Evernote a try!

Leave a Reply

