What’s up (in the) Dock? Part 1

I got this great text message after John’s How to become a web surfing ninja workshop.

“Ok… random thought but I am looking at my computer screen and just realized that I know a LOT about my computer but not much about all those things in the dock.  What about teaching a session on some of those things???  I’m laughing at myself that I’m starting to think about these things!!”

I have connected the idea in this message to cleaning out my closet at home and my desk at school. Every time I start to work on my closet or desk, I am overwhelmed because there is so much to do.  If I could just get started, I would be okay.  Getting started is not hard, but it is not easy either.  If I would just do one thing, just one, I would probably do more.  Taking the first step is the key.

So, back to the dock…  There are 32 icons in the dock on my MacBook Pro.  (We won’t discuss how many shoes there are in my closet.)  If I am new to Mac, this could be overwhelming.  I might not know where to start.  What if I just look at one or two apps this week that might be interesting to investigate or play with?  Hmm…but which one or two?  There are many choices…

Well, we are going to learn about iLife and IWork in July with 2-day courses.  What if we start there?  Kinda like reading the chapter before going to class.

Here are the iLife and iWorks icons that are in the dock with a brief description and a couple of links to more information.

Pages – iWork
Word processor

“Pages is both a streamlined word processor and an easy-to-use page layout tool. It allows you to be a writer one minute and a designer the next, always with a perfect document in the works.”

Text:  Pages ‘09
Videos:  Pages ’09 Tutorial

Keynote – iWork
Presentation

“Create your presentation in Keynote, and you’ll be a hard act to follow. Powerful yet easy-to-use tools and dazzling effects put the show in slideshow.”

Text:  Keynote ‘09
Videos:   Keynote ’09 Tutorial

Numbers – iWork
Spreadsheet

“With great-looking templates, easy-to-create formulas, and dynamic tables and charts, spreadsheets suddenly make perfect sense.”

Text:  Numbers ‘09
Videos: Numbers ’09 Tutorial

iPhoto – iLife
Photos management and more

“From your Facebook Wall to your coffee table to your best friend’s inbox (or mailbox). Do more with your photos than you ever thought possible. And do it all in one place. iPhoto.”

Text: iPhoto
Videos:  Find out howVideo Showcase
Additional Info:  iPhoto ’11

iMovie – iLife
Let’s make a movie

“iMovie makes it easy to turn your home videos into your all-time favorite films. You’ll laugh. You’ll cry. You’ll watch them over and over again. And you’ll share them with everyone.”

Text:  iMovie
Videos:  Find out howVideo Showcase
Additional Info:  iMovie ‘11

GarageBand – iLife
Compose music

“Welcome to the school of rock. A Mac-size practice space. Your own recording studio. If you want to learn to play an instrument, write music, or record a song, GarageBand has everything you need.”

Text:  GarageBand
Videos:  Find out howVideo Showcase
Additional Info:  GarageBand ‘11

Just in case you missed C. Valdez’s email about installing iWork, we’ve added the instructions below.  Two important things to note:  1) You must be on campus to complete the install, and 2) Please read carefully; I missed the step where it says to login as Guest.

About Jill Gough

Learner, Love Questions, Problem-finding, Math w/technology. Interests: Collaborating, PLC, Formative assmt
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s up (in the) Dock? Part 1

  1. Jill – Do we have an iWork serial number? My machine is asking me for that before I can start playing with Numbers 09.

  2. jgough says:

    Hi…
    Thanks for asking!

    The instructions for installing iWork with the appropriate serial number are in an email from Chris Valdez. If you search for this email, it is titled “Instructions for Using iWork”, and it was sent on 5/27/11 at 2:34. If you don’t have it, that is okay and perfectly understandable. There are so many important details at the end of the year that this could be easily overlooked. We want you to be able to learn and play.

    I have updated the post above to include the instructions. One important point – you have to be on campus to do the install. (Sorry.)

Leave a Reply

